Heads Up

P1010477 (1024x766)Today things were calm, accepting and productive.  The sun shone (always good for an extra 50 points), a box of eagerly awaited plug plants arrived in good condition (more to follow so only scores 10), I met a bull mastiff called Gus (from a cautious distance on both our parts, plus 30), bracken was removed from tender plants (a garden milestone so 40 for this), we had a laugh and a singsong (definitely another 50, is was opera after all) and my cheese and salami on toast for lunch was almost perfect (only a 20 for this as I burnt the toast).  This photo however was the defining moment of the day.  On my way to the compost bins with my final load of the day, I suddenly caught a glimpse of where I had been working (surely this view can score no less than 100).  So with a quick tally up, and carefully checking the logarithm charts, this adds up to a pretty good day.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Heads Up

  1. Cathy marjoram

    Good day for me too culminating in Ol helping to fit the new pump in the fountain, which has been silent for nearly a year….ended up covered in filthy water and the odd leech…but it was worth it! X

  2. I like the phrase, “calm, accepting and productive” it seems very harmonious.

  3. Never mind your logorithms. With a view like that and sun like we had today how could it be a bad day. What a glorious spring we are having!

    • And another one today, long may it last (with a little night time rain please)

      • And you have your opera singing to cheer you which must be very jolly. . . my song of choice when I’m gardening is The Laughing Song from Die Fledermaus. Slightly off key I’m afraid and wobbly on the high notes but very cheering, For me anyway.

      • There is something very liberating about singing at the top of your voice, on key or off. We could start a gardeners choral society!

  4. It is a glorious day here, too. Just the right kind of day to get on with all the weeding I need to do. I’ve inherited a huge number of dandelions and there are clumps of grass in the perennial beds. Lucky me! Darn, what did I do with my logarithm charts?

  5. And with a view like that every day would be a perfect day for me….

  6. I counted till 200 something and then I lost it – when I saw the view :)
    Glad you had a good one.

Leave a Reply

