Fuji Cherry – NW Day Three

Prunus incisa 'Kojo-no-mai'

Hero is very good at both sweeping and raking because she is both methodical and patient.  I am not very good at either as I am random and impatient; slapdash I think my mother would call it.  Some personality flaws can never be remedied so I have come to terms with the fact that I never be a champion sweeper however hard I try.  I do have other skills though.  Obviously there is the cartwheeling and I have now finally mastered the dance moves to YMCA.

This is Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’, a cultivar of the Fuji Cherry.   It is slow-growing, even at maturity it will only reach between 1.5 – 2.0m and can even be grown as a patio plant; it is a popular bonsai specimen in its native Japan.  It produces a mass of white/palest of pale pink blossoms opening from burgundy buds in early spring.   Later we are treated to an autumn display, a second treat of red and orange foliage before they fall for the winter.  So really there is no excuse for not growing one.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fuji Cherry – NW Day Three

  1. Michelle - Germany

    Have a small specimen on my terrace, on a table, decorated with some eggs as an easter tree!! 🙂 Well, I SAY on my terrace, actually it is mostly in the garage, taking shelter from a biting easterly and night frosts 😦 😦 It is a delight though…..maybe the easter weekend will bring spring with it….Happy Easter to you XX
    Next time I am over you can show me the YMCA moves…. 😉

  2. How many people at the end of their lives say they should have spent more time raking and sweeping?

Leave a Reply

