Androsace septentrionalis “Star Dust”

Androsace

I know, another white flower, maybe I should just give up and call this month “White May” or something a little catchier like “It’ll be All White On the Night”.  A bit naff?  Quite right, we will stick with “I’m Dreaming of a White Springtime”

This is Androsace septentrionalis “Star Dust”, Native American and a member of the primrose family, also known as pygmy flower and rock jasmine.  The name, which I am struggling to pronounce so please don’t ask, comes from the Greek “andr” (“man”) and “sakos” (“shield”), referring to the protective properties of an unknown, and undoubtedly, mysterious ancestor.  “Septentrionalis” is Latin for “northern”.  As it is found growing in the Rocky Mountains and other alpine regions of the USA it naturally enjoys, well-drained conditions.  I have it on, slightly dodgy, authority that although tricky to divide it will self-seed if happy.  It looks quite content to me, so just in case of little ‘uns emerging we will have to be less rigorous in our weeding of this spot.  We use this excuse a great deal.  It also appears that it may well die after flowering, the rosette losing its chlorophyll and turning a lovely russet hue; all very well but I would have preferred a slightly longer life span.  There is no point in worrying about this, it is out of my control so will refrain from doomily predicting its demise.  Instead I will enjoy the moment and these dainty candelabra of simple, yellow-eyed flowers.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Androsace septentrionalis “Star Dust”

  1. What a catchy name! Nothing wrong with white, or yellow or pink come to that. I love them all. You must try Bidens aurea ‘Hannay’s Lemon Drop’. I have just discovered it is hardy ‘cos it’s popping back up everywhere! Four feet tall waving wiry stems topped with lovely yellow flowers tipped white. Gorgeous!

  2. diversifolius

    All the Androsace are so lovely, even if short lived, some of them. I do not have this one 😦

  3. Allison

    I just found this post, so excuse the extreme lateness of my addition. I have this androsace (and 3 others) everywhere in my garden here in central Alberta, Canada. Here it is a bi-annual, germinating and growing it’s first year, then blooming, setting seed, and dying it’s second. It reseed prolifically, and the seeds seem to end up everywhere, which suits me fine, as it is probably one of my all time favourite garden plants.

Leave a Reply

