Soulman

Sept3 025 (1024x683)Generally I like the single dahlias best; they are a good food source for bees and butterflies with easily accessible nectar and quite frankly I prefer their look.  On more frivolous days, in spite of myself, I like the pompoms with their perfectly geometric flowers and often vibrant colours.  Today “Soulman” was my favorite bloom, with his deep dark lion’s mane.  My mood however was far from deep and dark.

My day begun with the usual tour of the garden; checking on which plants are looking good or in need of attention, which areas are becoming an embarrassment of weeds and who has eaten/stomped on/dug up what.  My conclusions were fair to fairer, with plants generally in fine fettle, in most areas weeds yet to reach the annoying stage and only minimal nibbling.

Soon after these rounds were complete, now with the spring in the step of a relieved gardener, we were visited by The Holbrooks, owners of a splendid garden and nursery in mid Devon.  Their visit was a pleasure, it was a joy to have them in the garden, passing comment, making suggestions and giving encouragement.  The sun came out, the air was full of insect life and, energised by their visit, the remains of my day was full of optimism.  This is kind of day that you find Soulman the perfect dahlia.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Soulman

  1. Soulman looks beautiful; I’ve put him on my wish list. I have so many simple flowers for the insects that I never feel guilty about growing more exotic blooms in the formal beds. It sounds like you’ve had a perfect day, hope you get to put your feet up on the sofa now!

  2. Michelle - Germany

    I have suddenly and unexpectedly fallen in love with Dahlias!! Need more next year, grateful for any recommendations by an expert! I have a few in pots, my are they thirsty!! 😉

  3. diversifolius

    Great picture! – one can tell you had a great day.

  4. Bruggies

    Beautifully written and full of atmosphere
    Thanks

  5. I’ve never had the slightest bit of luck with dahlias. It sounds like your weather is much like ours these days: overcast mornings and warm, sunny afternoons.

  6. I really love to grow just a few choice colours of Dahlia …not too bothered whether they are big and bold or a shy little thing it’s just the colour I’m after…

Leave a Reply

