Down But Not Out

Sept17 001 (1024x684)After the prolonged and ongoing gales (ominously referred to as the first storm of the season), it would have been a miracle if there had been no damage in the garden.  So when I actively went searching for mayhem I should have been prepared for just that.  Wrong!  I first noticed a gap on the horizon, just above the rhody bank; something was missing.  The Arbutus unedo, my beautiful stripling of a strawberry tree, was lying prone on the ground.  On closer inspection it appears that the wind had snapped the stem, almost clean off, close to the base.  I confess a tear sprung to my eye and a fist gripped my heart at the pathetic sight of one of teacher’s favorites cut off before its prime.

As I continued my inspection of the garden there were other casualties, the Rhodotypos scandens has fallen, much is splayed, splatter and whipped around. The scary fleece sheets had ripped from their moorings or disappeared completely, no doubt causing consternation in someone else’s garden.  In their absence Bambi and friends had taken the opportunity to bite the heads off any remaining upright dahlia.  I’ve had better starts to my day.

Never mind, it could have been worse.  The garden is closed now so I don’t have to make excuses, rushing around with sticking plasters and bandages.  I have taken cuttings from the arbutus, the shoot at the base will regrow and potentially become a less top-heavy, more stable specimen.  The rhodotypos will be hoisted back into position and hopefully suffer no ill effects.  The dahlias are bound to flourish again next year.  All is not lost.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Down But Not Out

  1. Such is the lot of the gardener (sigh). You’re right to take the long view, and sometimes the surprises are pleasant: the plant you had given up for dead can experience a marvelous resurrection.

  2. It felt a bit mean clicking “Like” when you have written about the damage to your garden. I was luckier here in south Oxfordshire; the wind broke off a few branches here and there but no significant damage.

  3. Michelle - Germany

    Ah, that is so sad………it is so darn frustrating sometimes this gardening thing!! I cry a lot!! 😉 But as Mrs Daffodil says….gotta take the long view. Such a shame about the Dahlias….my own plot is looking a bit dejected too after heavy rain for a few days and stange tiny brown seeds which falls in huge numbers at this time of year, (fir trees? Birch?) and leaves a helluva mess on the pond, fountain bowl, terrace and in every other possible orifice and surface. I REALLY couldnt be bothered today.(having had 4 appointements at the Eye docs to measure pressure and waiting at least an hour each time) but in the end forced myself to mow the grass and tidy up a bit. Then it started raining again. Hey Ho. 😉 Still, at least I dont have Glaucoma at the moment so I am very happy tonight! Surprises are indeed sometimes pleasant! 🙂

  4. diversifolius

    Sorry to hear about this – I always feel bad that I cannot have Arbutus here, but as you said ‘all is not lost’. As gardeners we have to be hopeful, grateful and looking forward to better days…

  5. I grew an arbutus for many years it was a fabulous specimen …then one years a whole mature branch fell off…no wind a nice day..so it had to go…broke my heart but with 2 granddaughters playing in the garden I couldn’t take the risk..but it did keep shooting from the bare trunk.

Leave a Reply

