Cows, Spiders and Blue tits

Sept19 019 (1024x683)

The day started promisingly.  There is nothing like a renegade bunch (surely the correct collective noun) of cows to get the juices flowing.  I realised that something was amiss when the cow bayings seemed to be rather close, in fact it was coming from the direction of Damage.  So using well honed tracking skills gained from watching a couple of episodes of Ray Mears and being able to recognise a cow pat, I located the absconded beasts.  In fact I nearly walked into one who was nonchalantly eating ferns at the side of the road.  I think this particular cow’s name may well have been Nonchalant, she was happy where she was and that was that.  Anyway after help from the Colonel’s Wife and Mr Damage I managed to locate the owners, Mrs Roadrunner rejoined her crew on the coast path of her own accord and I could leave them all to it, conscience salved, with the cowboys and gals on their way.  It was 9.00am and I needed a lie down.

Then the rain started ………. I tidied, I swept, I sorted, I danced a little, I borrowed Bossman’s mini Dyson and hoovered (should that be dysoned?) up spider’s webs and seriously upset our resident ant colony.  After the excitement of the morning the day became rather monotonous.  The sun came out too late to matter.  Never mind we have guests tomorrow and things are looking much tidier, if I don’t turn the light on in the potting shed we might get away with it.

This afternoon I was enjoying watching the blue tits in the elder, who seem to have already picked most of the berries.  Later, whilst shopping,  I was persuaded to rejoin the RSPB.  In truth I had been thinking about it for a while as I know these organisations need all the support they can get.  We try our very best to encourage and protect all wildlife in the garden; admittedly some creatures behave better than others.  We feed the birds and have a table and bath conveniently placed for potting shed viewing.  My reasons for joining were all noble and had absolutely nothing to do with the fact that the recruiter was a charming Frenchman, I resent the implication!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Cows, Spiders and Blue tits

  1. Bruggies

    A lovely wander through your day.There aren’t any Frenchmen recruiting for the RSPB here or I would join too.

  2. Very funny post, what with Nonchalant, the cow. and all. I could see the scene in my mind’s eye.

  3. Betsy Hosegood

    That same Frenchman got me to join at St John’s Garden Centre. It was worth it. Glad the cow got back with her friends in the end.

  4. I have sorely missed reading your posts whilst I have been away – it was quite painful getting on the Internet most of the time. Charming Frenchmen must be scarce in Devon, or anywhere outside France for that matter, so make the most of it!

Leave a Reply

