The Time Has Come

P1000591 (1024x768)One of the advantages of my job is “seasonality”.  Impressed by my philosophical approach?  Not for long, I promise.  What I mean is that all summer long you can gaze upon the garden and say “come autumn I will completely revamp that border” or “that incredibly spiky thing needs moving, I will definitely do that by the time winter arrives” or “that bed of Osteospermum “Killerton Pink” is impregnated with ferns, oxalis and other ne’er-do-wells, I will certainly sort that out before the cold weather sets in” and then return to skipping, reading romantic poetry and eating candyfloss.  Then, often as a substantial shock to myself, the summer ends and the time has come to do all those jobs that were just a vague calendar entry in the imaginary yearly planner of Cliffe.  So today I tackled the sprawling tangle of African Daisy, still popping out the odd bloom, in an attempt to oust the uninvited guests.  The only solution was to dig the whole lot up, separate the goodies from the baddies and replant.  Then mulch; always finish with a good mulch.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Time Has Come

  1. ex34mush

    And there was me thinking you were about to reveal that when the autumn (or more likely winter) actually arrived the enthusiasm for such things waned a little and the attractions of a warm fire and a book of romantic poetry proved difficult to resist.

    Still I am glad you are optimistic about the Osteospermum. Down her in the valley I have tried to grow them a number of times, but they never seem to survive the winter. However, as you have suggested in the past, up there in your eyrie perhaps the frost is less of a problem.

    Either way, keep taking the candyfloss (is that cotton candy to our American friends?)

  2. diversifolius

    At least you can still dig up the ground! – here we’ll have to wait until spring for all the postponed ‘seasonal’ tasks :0

  3. I do find myself getting indolent already by August, what with all the thankless tasks like mowing and weeding. It amazes me how the enthusiasm comes back every spring without fail. The seed catalogues begin arriving and visions of a bigger, better garden dance through my head.

  4. Mary cooper

    Now I know why my garden is always a work not in progress but glowering at me accusingly.It’s all those poetry and candy floss type things that get in the way
    Just love your blog!,

Leave a Reply

