Pots of Potential

Meconopsis (1) (1024x683)Last summer I became extremely agitated during the protracted wait for the blooming of our Nepal Poppy, Meconopsis napaulensis; “will she?”, “wont she?”, “what colour will she be”, “will bambi/slug/snail/hippo take a liking to the burgeoning flower spike” and “if she is going to I wish she would get a move on I’m beginning to lose interest”.  I was hoping for pink but she turned out yellow (I loved her anyway) and was as spectacular as I had imagined.  This year, thanks to a very generous gift by Mr Marwood, we have six plants.  Can you imagine the anticipation before these furry little beauties’ coming out party.  It may well get messy.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pots of Potential

  1. diversifolius

    This is very exciting!!! Two years ago we had a few Meconopsis grandis and betonicifolia flowering and I think I took about a thousand pictures 🙂
    It’s too humid in the summer here though, so they rarely make it to the next year or they don’t flower.

  2. Helen Johnstone

    I have seedlings in the cold frame, hoping for a flower this year

  3. I’ve never had any luck with any of the Meconopsis species, not even Meconopsis cambrica (blush!). I think it was too dry at the “old garden”. This year, I’m trying Meconopsis betonicifolia again, just one plant. We’ll see if it comes back after the winter is over.

Leave a Reply

