Upton Girl

P1000826 (1024x768)As predicted it was a greenhouse/potting shed day today.  Standards remained high and there was definitely no shirking on the fashion front; full waterproofs were donned first thing in preparation for the many inevitable journeys betwixt the two.  I think I will ask Bossman if he will build us a covered walkway.  I think I know the answer.  Anyway, our Hardy Plant Society seeds arrived at the weekend and today was perfect for a sowfest.  This year I decided that to avoid my usual “rabbit in headlights” reaction to their extensive seed list (resulting in the selection of easy options or, horror of horrors, not ordering at all), I would select wisely by choosing plants that I had never heard of.  My reasoning was that a good (read cheapskate) way to learn about new species/genus was to grow them.  At the time it seemed inherently sensible.  Fast forward a few weeks to the look of horror on Hero’s face this morning as she perused the new arrivals, the bewilderment was palpable.  I assured her that I didn’t have a clue what any of them were either.  I had a rough idea about Aquilegia formosa and Aquilegia bertolonii, could make a punt at Althaea taurica, as for Triosteum pinnatifidum, Cneorum tricoccon and Diphylleia cymosa well your guess is as good as mine, probably better.  Thank goodness for Google (other search engines are available).

This is the fragrant Phlomis “Upton” which has done us the great honour of rooting over the winter months.  It is either extremely rare, as I can find no mention of it in the Plant Finder, or I made it up.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Upton Girl

  1. diversifolius

    I have now to check on the Cneorum, but Diphylleia and Triosteum are all worth the effort!
    Myself I have put a few things on the ‘no seeds – black list’, mainly the ones that already drove me into frustration a few times.

  2. I don’t think you can possibly go wrong with Phlomis or Aquilegia. I’m going to have to defer to diversifolius on the others. I’ll look forward to future posts on these unknowns.

  3. Bruggies

    How exciting.This is real cutting edge of gardening.Is this a new garden style emerging as in “buy seeds ,remember to sow,watch the ones that emerge and then marvel as they develope”

  4. I am running the risk of deliberating for too long over this years seeds and then not getting around to ordering any. Probably a good thing, as I have no space, but I’d still be disappointed in myself 😉

Leave a Reply

