Winter Wonderland

 

DSCI0066 (1024x767)Yesterday I visited a wonderful winter garden.  The fact that it is also a spring, summer and autumn garden is an indication of the skill of the owner and gardener, Jo Hynes at Higher Cherubeer in mid Devon.  I had gone ostensibly to visit her National Collection of cyclamen, which was indeed magnificent, but it was how these were used in the garden, their often mottled leaves and delicate pink flowers, intermingled with other winter bloomers that impressed me.  There were hellebores from pure white to devils black, spidery witch hazels, burnished pollarded willows reaching to the sky and snowdrops in their thousands, a galanthophile’s heaven.  It certainly lifted my spirits; what is more the rain held off until almost half way home, it was more than I could have expected.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Winter Wonderland

  1. Is that pretty little thing Wendy’s Gold?? I too currently hold a National Collection…………of drowned plants!

    • Sorry I didn’t catch the name, it may be. I think quite a few of us have new bog gardens, fingers crossed the plants can survive the submersion! I’m sure in a couple of months we will be looking a colourful pictures of your lovely garden again.

  2. diversifolius

    Nothing more graceful than the snowdrops – glad you had a good time!

  3. Michelle - Germany

    Ah, so important I think to have at least a Winter corner in a garden. Mine is planted with Hellebores, Aconites and Snowdrops and I have winter flowering cherry and Viburnums and Witchhazel and Mahonia…..cheers me every winter. 🙂 Lovely photo and so glad you had such a nice day!

  4. What a lovely composition, the snowdrops in the foreground and the cyclamen behind. I might just borrow this idea one of these days!

  5. Sounds wonderful Gill. The opportunities to get out and about are few and far between this winter!

Leave a Reply

