The Mighty Moss

P1010107 (1024x768)Dark, damp and dreary – that just about sums up the area beneath the mature pittosporum.  This may not sound like the place you or I would want to set up home but there are some who love these conditions, one of which is our old friend the moss.  I haven’t a clue which of 900 species of moss found in the UK this one is (forgive my ignorance) and I would be happy if anyone out there could enlighten me.  Although considered the menace of the manicured lawn and a pariah to the crown green bowler I am extremely happy about its presence in the garden.  There is something ethereal and ancient about this soft mat of emerald-green, and that I find very comforting.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “The Mighty Moss

  1. Ethereal, ancient, emerald-green. Beautifully put.

  2. diversifolius

    I always want to touch it, but you are right it is comforting just to look at the green creature too.

  3. Cathy Marjoram

    I think of it as nature’s duvet…tucking the plants in over Winter.

  4. Looks like my lawn….

  5. Plenty of moss in what passes for my “lawn”… It is weird and wonderful stuff, isn’t it. I had no idea there were 900 species in the UK!

  6. I am also a fan of moss. I always want to pet it or lie down on it. It’s very soothing and sort of comforting, perhaps because like stone it makes places looks more lived in some how?

  7. Our seagulls love a bit of moss and take great pleasure in picking it over and chucking it all over the place. When they are done the blackbirds take over for the next shift!

Leave a Reply

