Greatness

P1010195 (1024x766)Today was a great day.  On this you will have to trust me.  I can’t back this statement up with hard facts; there were no specific events I could relate to convince you of this greatness, to make you sigh “aah I understand” or “how I wish I was there with you”.  I didn’t uncover an ancient hoard of golden artifacts, George Clooney didn’t get a puncture just outside the garden gates, the “Free Pasties for All” bus didn’t make a diversion through Lee.   There was however something in the air, an optimism, a calm intent, a wholeness; perhaps it was spring.  The Early Harvest tulips felt the same, laying open their souls to the sun, basking in the warmth.   Next week, or even tomorrow, I may well bemoan the cruelty of the season, but today I am relishing its greatness.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Greatness

  1. Sometimes the day is great. We just have to notice!

  2. It was indeed a lovely day ..I managed to lightly dig and fettle around one of my herbaceous beds..and my tulips are about 15 cms tall…no hope of them flowering for a good while yet…love the orange tulip…Early Harvest you say…..one for next year

  3. Cathy Marjoram

    Hooray for great days….Spring, hope and promise are in the air at last! x

  4. It’s a wonderful time of year, when winter is so close to being over and all the other seasons are still to come. We had some sunshine today, with real warmth in it, and although it soon gave way to rain, it lifted my spirits and gave me just enough time to plant out some snowdrops.

  5. Lucy Corrander

    Huh. Spring eh? Was looking forward to a share in a Viking hoard of gold.

    There will be a link box for Tree Following posts on Loose and Leafy tomorrow (March 7th). It’ll stay open for seven days.
    http://looseandleafy.blogspot.co.uk/
    Lucy

  6. Michelle - Germany

    Ah what a lovely post!! Today was such a day here too, despite my aching back and arthritic fingers !! I could hardly bear to come inside at dusk….stereo blackbird song such sweet music to my ears. Robin serenaded me all afternoon as I potted and cleared and dug and swept..
    Pity about George though…..he didnt turn up here either. Nor the gold. And pasties give me heartburn anyway, 😉

  7. diversifolius

    Such an an unusual colour for a tulip! – I can feel the sunshine and the greatness even from the distance 🙂

Leave a Reply

