Tree Following 2014 – Introducing ….

P1010207 (1024x769)I have always believed that trees are magical and I have good reason for this faith.  Many years ago, when I had little more than my seed leaves, we would go for family walks in nearby ancient woods.  In the depths of this wood was a magic tree.  It was enormous, but then at four years old everything seems pretty big.  I have always imagined this tree to be an oak and as that image fits very well into this story an oak it will be.  When we eventually reached this mighty oak, after what seemed like hours (of course at four everything does) there was a strict routine to be undertaken.  First find appropriate wand/twig, next stand in front of magic tree with eyes tight closed, then wave wand/twig and repeat in tones of awe and majesty the mystical word “abracadabra”.  What happened next was without fail a delight, a packet of fruit pastilles mysteriously appeared in my anorak hood, as well as those of my ne’er-do-well brothers.  So this continued, the magic tree never let us down; on reflection I am guessing it must have had some kind of sponsorship deal with Rowntrees.  That was until the fateful day when for some inexplicable reason I had been separated from my trusty anorak and was wearing some kind of hoodless equivalent.  What would become of me? I was doomed to a sweetless existence!  My parents insisted that I go through the ritual anyway and that I must trust the tree.  So I duly, and most likely tearfully, did just that.  And what do you know?  I put my hand in my pocket and that clever tree had put my sweets in there, how could I have ever doubted the power of the oak?

My chosen tree, this splendidly tangled medlar, may not be the most classically beautiful but if any tree is going to be magical surely this could be the one.   I haven’t tried the spell in front of this wonderful specimen but I think I might, although I would prefer something other than fruit pastilles.  I’m not sure you can do requests.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Tree Following 2014 – Introducing ….

  1. Lucy Corrander

    It certainly looks like a magical tree! And I expect we’ll all remember traumas in childhood before we’d properly worked out which causes led to the effects we desired.

  2. Lucy Corrander

    I’ve no experience with WordPress and there are (I think) several versions so I can’t help you but, amongst others, Pat at Squirrelbasket http://squirrelbasket.wordpress.com/ and Flighty http://flightplot.wordpress.com/ have copied it onto WordPress blogs, so maybe one of them would be able to help?

  3. ex34mush

    Have you – or other Blog followers – visited the Elfin Oak in Kensington Gardens, London? Have enjoyed this tree as a child, with my children and now with our grandchildren. http://www.royalparks.org.uk/parks/kensington-gardens/kensington-gardens-attractions/elfin-oak No magic sweets, but they do sell ice cream nearby…

  4. Me and my sister always liked a huge Monkey puzzle tree at Clumber Park, now N/T. We would go with our cousins and have brilliant make believe games. The spiky branches touched the ground and we would always end up with sore legs. Memories live on.

  5. What a delightful family tradition! I’ve always felt that oak trees are magical.

  6. diversifolius

    So nice to have this wonderful childhood memories – trees related! Your medlar looks very charming, I look fw to see it flowering!

  7. coastcard

    What a beautiful narrative. I wonder what tangled tales the Medlar will tell!

  8. I love your magical tree story! The medlar has a magnificently gnarly shape to it, clearly magical, are you sure it won’t accept requests?!

  9. Betsy Hosegood

    What wonderful parents! I feel quite nostalgic and it wasn’t even my childhood. Still, I got the chance to live vicariously for a few minute there.

  10. Cathy Marjoram

    I too had a magical tree when I was little. Mine was a flying tree. I used to stand in the middle of the road (not much traffic in our hamlet) stare very hard up into the branches of the tree…and I swear I used to levitate. Not very far….only a matter of five or six millimeters….but I was definitely off the ground….I was quite weightless. I only managed to do it 2 or 3 times… but I remember the feeling very vividly.
    Never managed to do it since.
    Love C x

  11. I love your story of the magic oak. I thought trees were magic when I was a child. My favourite Enid Blyton book was The Faraway Tree. I really believed that if you climbed to the top of a big tree you would find another world.
    To get the Follow the Tree symbol you highlight it and copy: Control C and then go to your blog and paste: Control V. This is the first time in my life I have given any computing advice. I must go and tell the Pianist, he will be amazed.

    • Thank you Teach I will give it a go. I am quite amazed/pleased that so many of you have magic tree experiences. Before we know it some scientific research will prove us all right. Here’s hoping!

  12. Reply for in the edge. I just saved the image. Depending on what you use then on a PC you can right cluck the tree and choose save. Then insert it the same way you add photos. On my iPhone I hesitate touch on the image until I get a choice to save photo. Then add it the same way as other photos. That might help.

  13. I had a tree which came down to the ground. Crawling in through the branches made you invisible. It definitely worked. My mother was calling for once and I cautiously poked just my hand out. My mother had eyes in the back if her head and missed nothing but she didn’t see it because it wasn’t there!

  14. There is nothing so magical as the memories of a child.

    • After I had written it I checked with my mum for accuracy, she said it was pretty much spot on. My brother tells me that he has continued the tradition in Holland with his children. Spread the magic.

Leave a Reply

