Mine, all mine!

P1010406 (768x1024)This is Magnolia “Marwood Spring”; a more spectacular blossom would be hard to find and yesterday it was in its prime.  As we sat eating our lunch in the cafe at Marwood Hill Gardens this tree was directly in my sight line. I could not keep my eyes off it, even when the homemade apple pie and custard was served.  There was no alternative, my horticultural itch could not be salved until I possessed one, it was not frivolous but a necessity. There is no doubt that it will look sensational at Cliffe, although it is unlikely I will be around to appreciate its magnificence in maturity.  However it is nice to think someone else will enjoy its splendour; if those gardeners who went before hadn’t planned for our future we would be much the poorer.

P1010412 (1024x768)

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Mine, all mine!

  1. I could not agree more….

    • As I get older I find I get more patient, which doesn’t really make sense as I have less time!

      • I understand this…. I think patience does have to be learnt…when I was younger I wanted things’ now ‘….but I have learnt that by waiting I get better results…for instance, for several years I have tried to grow Gloriosa Rothschildii from seed….and failed….but by slowing down and reading up first I have now succeeded ….and no I won’t have a flowering plant this year but it gives me something to look forward to….grow your new Magnolia and even just seeing new leaves every year you will now that it’s just that bit closer to maybe seeing it flower one day.

      • Quite right, I think the emphasis shifts from the destination to the journey.

  2. The closeup photo is stunning–I definitely have Magnolia envy. However, the size of the tree in the first photograph, compared to the tiny people walking along, does give me pause. I once grew one in a large pot and that worked for a number of years. It flowered, but eventually started to suffer, and I gave it away to someone with more space than I had.

  3. I think that the tree at Marwood is about 50 years old, so it’s quite a while before it gets to that size.

  4. Bosswoman

    How lovely it is. Something more to look forward to and another reminder of horticultural friends and colleagues.

  5. I don’t know this Magnolia; it is gorgeous. There are so many lovely magnolias but I quite see why you have to have this one.
    The only possible way to garden is to imagine that you are immortal. My father decided that it wasn’t worth getting a second orchid greenhouse at the great age of 70. He thought that he wouldn’t be around long enough to get the use out of it. He lived and gardened until he was 95.

  6. Lucy Yuill

    Beautiful magnolia, Slightly ruined by the browning camellia beneath! The over planted shapeless shrub that blights the Cornish Spring,saying that my sister’s Cornish snow is quite pretty. The mild winter has again let strange things survive I have had white borage flowering away for weeks now?

    • I only had eyes for the magnolia! You are not the only one I know in the anti-camellia brigade, someone else I know dislikes roses, another evening primrose, I don’t mind any of them but don’t get me started on cotoneaster.

  7. According to Lin, the camellia was there first!

Leave a Reply

