Pulmonaria “Diana Clare”

4April14 033 (1024x684)This lungwort was bought specifically for the LNB (light, night and bright) border; its silver leaves perfectly equipped to shine out from the shade beneath Magnolia soulangeana “Alba”.  This is what I call “grown up” plant buying, when you select a certain specimen to fit a specific place in the garden.  In my world it doesn’t happen often.  There is always a place for a good plant.  I have heard folk say “I love that plant more than chocolate but I can’t buy it as I haven’t got room for it”.  You might as well say “mamI’ DaneH’a’? nItebHa’ mamI’ DaneH’a’?”!  Each to their own (she says tolerantly so as not be judged as harsh but in reality think this breed is very odd).  Anyway back to the pulmonaria.  Although I always presumed there would be flowers, these were not my first concern.  What a pleasant surprise when this foliage plant showed its trump card, masses of downy pink/purple/mauve blooms.  I love spring.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Pulmonaria “Diana Clare”

  1. Grown up plant buying is the most rewarding, the thought and effort and finally owning the plant. But then there are those rash mad purchases that have no place at all. Your Pulmonaria flowers are very striking!

  2. Cathy Marjoram

    Lovely pulmonaria…I have a really strong blue one…no idea which one it is, but it’s back again this year, so it must be happy! x

  3. “mamI’ DaneH’a’? nItebHa’ mamI’ DaneH’a’?” Ha, ha. I love spring, too!

  4. What ever you say……..I think I may have this pulmonaria…as the flowers are just the same lovely colour ,quite different from the norm…mine may have been a rash purchase….as there is no label now..what ever you buy / acquire…you always find a space….Lovely photo…

  5. diversifolius

    Love that ‘adult buying’ say – almost never happens to me 🙂
    Pulmonarias are great! in any shape in colours.

Leave a Reply

