Welcome Home

P1010472 (1024x767)Yesterday lunchtime, happily sprawled on the potting shed sofa enjoying my egg and cress sandwiches whilst reading Needlepoint Weekly, I was becoming increasing irritated by the almighty kerfuffle going on outside.  The general garden volume has increased over the last couple of weeks with the birds becoming as excited as me at the prospect of spring.  I hasten to add that we have quite different reasons for our enthusiasm! Anyway this particular racket forced me out of my comfort to investigate the perpetrator of the fuss.  I was absolutely thrilled to see the little fellow above.  Once a common sight, this is only the second time in the eight years that I have seen a sparrow at Cliffe.  It has been widely reported that this gregarious chattering bird has declined significantly over the last few decades; the horrific figures according to the RSPB are 71% since 1977.  Far less than scold him for disturbing my peace I welcomed him.  Fingers crossed he will find a mate and this will be the start of a new ornithological chapter in our garden.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Welcome Home

  1. “Potting shed sofa”? I suppose that would be the equivalent of my “greenhouse chaise longue” 😉 . Delighted to see your new visitor – and such a lovely photo.

  2. Needlepoint weekly…..yeah right…..sparrows are great …have some quarreling at this moment in a large holly.

  3. Sounds lovely, a potting shed sofa, we had a potting shed armchair until my husband sat in it one day and discovered a nest of wasps had taken up residence in the seat! We really welcome sparrows too and have only seen a couple so far this year.

  4. It is distressing to hear about the decline of bird (and bee) populations. Apparently, even the starlings are on the decline in the UK, although they are still numerous in North America. Lovely photo of your sparrow against the blue background of sea and sky.

  5. Michelle - Germany

    Ah, yes he is lovely indeed…we are lucky to have quite a small colony now and although they do eat me out of house and home in the winter I love them so much, the evening get-together and catch up in the neighbours Laurel always makes me smile. SO hope yours will settle….we had almost none here a few years back so there’s hope…:-)

  6. I’m convinced that a lot of their decline has to do with everyone stripping the ivy off walls and fences. We had a huge colony nesting at our previous house, which was clothed in ivy and provided not only a home for the birds (mind you they were very noisy in the mornings) but also for masses of insects as well. We only have a small colony here and as I wait for the ivy to get established I’m busy erecting more cat deterrents around our boundaries………

    • You may well be right, ivy is an all round good plant. There are so many horror stories about how it damages brickwork, which I believe isn’t true, it scares people into ripping it all off.

  7. Needlepoint Weekly? My journal of choice is Philately Monthly. Hours of happy entertainment; you should try it.
    I didn’t have a single sparrow in my last garden but we had a sparrow hawk who always nested in the garden. It used to be the most common garden bird which we took for granted. You really miss it when you don’t have it any more. I am delighted that we have a chattering family who live with us here. They always sound as if they are quarrelling and bickering; such a racket but very welcome.

    • I used to wonder if it was the exposed conditions that put them off as there seemed to be plenty down in the village. Let us hope this pioneer is made of stern stuff. ps do you want to swap mags when you have finished?

  8. Sorry folks, I have to come clean and admit I have adopted them all! A mile out of Lee Bay, my hawthorn hedge is alive with them! I have tried counting them – but far too many! I am continually buying sacks of seed, fat balls and peanuts – the best restaurant in the West Country! [ I even make them bird cake!] So birdy food parcels would be most welcome! I must admit I get quite upset when the sparrowhawk pays a visit but my saucepan lids save the day and another little sparrow life!

Leave a Reply

