The Kernow Kid

Cornus kousa Satumi (1024x768) As we enjoy sucking the brains of any clever clogs who visits the garden we are sometimes known as The Vampire Gardeners of North Devon, which I think you will agree lends a certain cache to our station.  This week we were visited by someone who knows what he’s on about, we shall call him the Kernow Kid.  Amongst a myriad of facts he informed me that Cornus kousa Satomi was the best flowering dogwood.  It would have been preferable if he had stopped there, however he continued to say that earlier this very week he had seen a tree superior in every way.  Awash with glorious bracts, unsullied by wind or rain, with a form of unparalleled symmetry.   A true specimen of The Gods.  It is not that I wasn’t paying attention but there was so much information abounding from said brainy gent that I do wish I had written it down.  Now I am left feeling I have missed out on something.  In the meantime we will have to make do with second best.

It is always a pleasure to be visited by interesting and interested individuals.  The world of horticulture can be lonely pursuit, the inclination is to look inwards instead of out, especially in the depths of winter.  So when you meet a like minded soul, generous with knowledge and plants, it is a joy.  Thank you Kernow Kid.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Kernow Kid

  1. We saw a lovely, but compact Miss Satomi at Goodnestone Park this week. Very pretty, but I still like the whites better. I am sure after your auspicious visit your specimen will buck its ideas up and start striving for perfection 🙂

  2. diversifolius

    Satomi is a great one! but true quite a few new cv. are making waves now. I couldn’t pick one, I like them all.

  3. Cornus nuttallii, the native dogwood of British Columbia, was blooming last month. It is a wonderful tree and sometimes blooms again in the fall. I know what you mean about the solitary gardener, but I’m very lucky that my daughter is a keen gardener, too, so I have a ready companion for visits to gardens and nurseries.

Leave a Reply

